The Daily Post Prompt: Terminal Time

You’re at the airport, your flight is delayed for six more hours, and none of your electronic devices is working. How do you pass the time?

This is my first time responding to a prompt, so here goes!

My initial response to this prompt would be to listen to my ipod or surf the web, but since none of my electronic devices are working, I realized that I’m going to have to change my direction of thought.

In retrospect, I never noticed until now how much I rely on and use my electronic devices, such as my ipod, phone, or laptop. Being forced to imagine a scenerio where these devices have been disabled/taken away from me really makes me realize how much I use these electronics, and that it isn’t exactly a good thing to use them so much .

Something to think about later…

So, back to the prompt. What would I do?

I’ve always enjoyed reading books, so I think one of the first things I would do is head over to the airport bookstore and buy a nice novel to read. I also happen to be reading The Odyssey right now, so I think I would take that time to finish reading it. I also always wanted to read One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kensey, so I would consider trying to find that book in the airport bookstore and getting started on it. For me, if a novel is very interesting with great character interactions/development and in-depth themes, I would be perfectly content doing nothing but reading that book until I can board the plane.

Another thing I would do is resort to my world of imagination. This sounds a little dumb, but sometimes if I’m really bored, I’ll pick my favourite book, anime, or movie, and insert myself as a character. I would think up scenarios to interact with the other characters that I’ve grown to love, and just have fun imagining the different situations and conversations I would have with them. I know..it sounds weird, but it’s actually really enjoyable to me as it lets me really explore the books/animes/movies that I’ve come to love and the characters that mean so much to me.

Hopefully this will be enough to keep me busy until I can board the plane!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/terminal-time/

This entry was posted in The Daily Post Prompts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

