The Daily Post Prompt: Antique Antics

What’s the oldest thing you own? (Toys, clothing, twinkies, Grecian urns: anything’s fair game.) Recount its history — from the object’s point of view.

When I first read this prompt, I was honestly stumped. What is the oldest thing I own? I actually went home and rummaged around my room for a bit before I realized; the oldest thing that I owned was actually sitting in front of me all along. I’d only been so accustomed to seeing it every day that I never noticed how sentimental or important it was to me.

Here’s a bonus…the oldest thing that I actually own is actually 3 things! Hahaha, does that make sense? Let me clarify: the oldest thing(s) that I own are my two stuffed bears and the white cardigan that the bigger bear is wearing.

2014-06-11 16.57.33

Before I completely dive into this prompt, let me give a small backstory to my stuffed bears and cardigan. My Mother bought the two stuffed bears when she was pregnant with me, and they were my first ever stuffed animals. They have literally been with me from the very first day that I was born, and I’ve always had them in my bedroom. Now, the cardigan is a little bit different as it was actually hand-knit for me by my Grandmother. Believe it or not, I actually did manage to fit into it for a few months, but I eventually outgrew it. Now we had a little problem; since I’m the youngest of my family, there was no one else to pass it on to. At the same time, however, it would be a real shame to just throw it out or store it away, so my Mother decided to give the cardigan to my big stuffed bear, and thus the big bear has been wearing it ever since then.

To keep it simple, I’ll be writing this prompt from the bigger stuffed bear’s point of view. Hope you enjoy!

Another day at the superstore. When will it be my turn? I wondered, glancing across the aisle to the other stuffed animals. When will someone pick me? 

It’s been nearly 4 months since I woke up in this store. 4 long months of doing nothing but sitting here and watching people pass by day after day. Sure, there was the occasional child or adult who would pick me up and maybe even hug me a bit, but other than that I’d been pretty isolated from everyone else. Well, not completely isolated. There was a smaller bear; a much smaller bear who’d I’d woken up with. He was pretty good company though; kind of quiet, yet thoughtful and nice. If anything, he made this whole ordeal somewhat bearable.

“Hey Big Bro?” Little Bear nudged my arm, shaking me out of my reverie. “What do you think will happen today?”

“I don’t know.” I replied. “If anything, we’ll probably just be passed by and it’ll be an easy day for us.” Again, and as per usual. I added silently. I didn’t want to weigh him down with my petty complaints and grumbles.

Little Bear opened his mouth to reply, but suddenly a dark shadow loomed over us. I froze, remaining perfectly still. Don’t move…don’t move. I reminded myself, trying to slow my breathing. My eyes glazed over as I stared blankly ahead.

Suddenly, I felt myself being picked up. For a horrible moment, I genuinely thought I was going to fall onto the hard, cold floor below. I braced myself, but to my surprise, the hands that’d picked me up were gentle and careful.

“This is cute.” I heard a woman’s voice, high up ahead.

“Get it.” A male voice said, coming from my right side. “And it even comes with another bear too. I’m sure she’ll love it.”

She? What? 

So many questions floated around inside my head.

What’s going on? 


I opened my eyes, blinking groggily. What happened? I looked around the room, with its pasty white walls and a sharp scent of something that I couldn’t quite identify.

“Where are we?” I heard a familiar voice beside me, and I sighed in relief as Little Bear appeared by my side.

“I don’t know.” I said. “Definitely not back at the superstore, that’s for sure.”

Suddenly, I heard footsteps, and the door opened as a man walked into the room.

Oh, it’s the same one as before! I breathed in, both relieved and slightly worried. Relieved that I recognized someone other than Little Bear, but still worried about our current situation.

Gentle hands picked me up and cradled me as I was carried over to the bed. Lying on the bed was the same woman from the superstore. She looked absolutely exhausted, yet was smiling gently.

I felt myself being slowly lowered into the arms of the woman. But I wasn’t the only one there; there was a small bundle in her arms, yet she was cradling it as if it were the most precious and delicate object in the world.

“Look.” She cooed, looking down at the bundle. “Meet your new friends.”

What? I didn’t understand, but the bundle moved, and then a little face peeped out from the folds of the blanket.

The puzzle pieces fell into place.

A little baby- female, if I had to guess- squirmed and wiggled as she let out a faint cry.

“Shh…” The woman gently rocked the baby, before pressing me and Little Bear closer to her.

I stiffened, but suddenly I felt some sort of warmth pool around me.

What was this feeling? What was this sensation? 

And then it hit me.

For the first time in my entire existence, I felt a sense of security and comfort.

Little Bear and I weren’t alone anymore. We had a purpose, a reason.

Little Bear and I glanced at each other, our eyes full of joy, before cuddling the little baby…no, our new owner and friend.

Don’t worry. We’re here. You’re safe, and we’ll protect you. We’ll be with you forever. 

5 Months Later

“She can’t wear it anymore, it’s too small now.” An old woman; one who I’d seen many times now, said sadly, holding a tiny white cardigan up in the air.

“Yes, but it’d be such a waste to leave it lying around or throw it away. You worked so hard on it.” The younger one said. “Here, give it to me.”

The older woman handed her the sweater, and the Mother of my owner walked over to me. She gently lifted my arms and tugged the cardigan onto me, before rearranging it.

“Look, it fits perfectly, and it looks great on it too!” She said, stepping back and admiring her handiwork. “C’mon, let’s go.” She said, walking out of the room with the older woman.

“Big Bro, you look great.” Little Bear sidled up to me, admiring the cardigan.

I twisted around, trying to get a better look at the cardigan. “It’s perfect.” I said, grinning at him.

Everything’s….perfect. 


OK WOW I haven’t written this much in FOREVER. I used to write fanfictions, but it’s been a while since I’ve written anything like this.

Thank you for reading this, and I hope you enjoyed it! 🙂

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/antique-antics/

This entry was posted in The Daily Post Prompts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Daily Post Prompt: Antique Antics

  1. bkpyett says:

    The warmth shines through!

Leave a Reply

